Posted by: Sreejith | July 29, 2008

Yet another first

Its been quite a while since i visited my own blog! Mostly that could be attributed to me quitting my job and leaving Bangalore to go back to school. Yes! Even after my disastrous interview, I managed to get into IIM Lucknow. Many thanks to everyone who wished me luck. So yet another new city and new people in my life. I do intend and hope to keep this blog alive. But for now, here is something that i had written for one of the newsletter’s on campus.

The very first time I walked into the hallowed portals of IIML, I was overpowered by a sense of achievement, a heady feeling of smug satisfaction that I had arrived. As I took in the sights of the campus – the statues, hostels, mess, academic block, everything smelt warm and beckoning. I knew I was at the right place.

The first few days after joining passed away like a daze with inductions, and the various ‘activities’ that the senior batch had planned (schemed?) for us. Added to that, meeting 300 odd new people and trying to remember their names was in itself quite a trying task.

After the initial hoax, I quickly realized that they don’t call this place ‘IIM helL’ for no reason. As the assignments, quizzes and projects began to start in true earnest, I learnt the most important asset that we PGP1 have are the seniors. Information is of the greatest essence; you either have it or you don’t. You also learnt to work smart and manage time. A few more weeks into life at IIM’s and I was already working smarter than I had ever done before.

Speaking of time management, the one thing that everyone on campus has a constant eye on is their watch (not the girls)! Never before has 1 minute mattered more in my life. When coming 30 seconds late to class means you don’t get attendance, there is new found respect for time.

But even with all the smart working, the workload never ceases and keeps on piling. Just then when we almost thought it was all an uphill climb all along, we had the “Insti party” – at the end of which I was literally screaming ‘I love this place’! Somehow you find solace in the fact that everyone is subjected to the same pressures and in a way you learn to enjoy the stress.

Another week later I found out that life at IIML doesn’t just constitute of only the campus. The city of Lucknow is a whole different place compared to the campus. It was on my first trip to Hazratganj that I discovered the chaos that the traffic of Lucknow is. But with all the madness somehow everyone manages to get through. The method in the madness is bewildering.

Now when I joined IIML, everyone kept saying how I’ll stand out because I would carry the brand of IIM. I never understood what that meant until at one of the malls here, I spotted a bunch of pretty girls ogling at the guys wearing the IIM Lucknow T-Shirts! That’s precisely when I realized the practical usefulness of the IIM brand 😉

Now as I look back upon the last one month of my stay here, I am sure I have changed much more in one month here than ever. I’ve grown more responsible and mature because I realize I am the future of my country. I am IIM Lucknow.

Responses

  1. Hey Sreejith!!!! What cosmic connection 😛

    I decided to check your blog today and you are here….

    Congratulations for getting into IIM!!! I was actually wondering about your getting into IIM because all the symptoms were hinting that you must have got through the interview….

    🙂

    Yiippeee!! Congratulations again… 🙂 Cheers!

  2. Hey…congrats on getting into IIM.
    Hopefully now we get to read more posts from you…lots of it

  3. My Man … welcome back to blogosphere!

    You hadn’t changed much when I met you on Campus, guess my visit did the trick 😛

    One suggestion – Don’t forget your ‘tameez and tehzeeb’ when you hit on Lko chicks 🙂

  4. good to have you back dude…. and yeah you were always good at adapting 🙂

    chalo “practical usefulness” pata to chal chuki hain, now don’t miss the one-in-a-billion opportunity that you blew last year 😉

  5. hey thanks for dropping in :p so wrt the bunch of pretty girls, what are you waiting for now, ‘pehle aap’??!! 😀

  6. hey. come on twitter. we need your daily doses and prolly logging onto wp daily might take up too much of your time.

    Congrats !

  7. //I discovered the chaos that the traffic of Lucknow is//
    what about bangalore traffic?
    Is the lucknow one much worse…
    Glad to hear that you are liking the place.

  8. Wooo hoooo !!

    babes beer books banging( ok may be not) ….

    but kewl … have a great time .. and keep us ( lesser mortals ) updated ….

    @Sangfroid …. Bhaiyya ab to Unni dude city mai hai … babes must watch out …

  9. “I am IIM Lucknow” – Globe Unlimited 😀

  10. he he :)……so u were able to squeeze some time from ur schedule…..well squeezing is what we have definitely learnt here…..squeezing time just enough for day sleep….squeezing into the classrooms just before the profs……and squeezing marks just around the average 🙂
    rock in hel(L)….

  11. Chandrika, thanku thanku 🙂

    Prats, i genuinely hope i take some time out. feels good to write!

    Sangfroid, sure sure 😉

    Kunal, no more missing opportunities… not anymore.

    Manu, pehle aap. lol!! excellent one :))

    Parry, i am yet to figure out the usefulness of twitter. Can’t promise but will try.

    Taju, Bangalore is waaay worse. Here the problem is with random things appearing on the roads in the middle of nowhere! I can’t explain it… its very very UP-ish 😀

    Pati, chal bhag 😀

    Ali, hihi.. yes yes. dood, we are taught to globe!

  12. does IIML stand for “I .. I am in Luck” ? 😛

    will the next post come out with the next issue?

  13. Hey! Congrats on your entry to IIM Hell!:) I am a big one to talk, but keep the posts rolling!:)

  14. Damn!! You’ve been in Lucknow all this while!! 🙂 I am from that place and between all this time, I’ve visited there a zillion times.. I know it may sound stupid but wierdly enough I feel a strange connection with everyone who’s been a part of this place at some point or the other.. 😀
    And amidst all this I forgot to congratulate you!! 😛 Great going and hope I’ll see some more of you.. 🙂

  15. Hey, it’s nice to see a new post on this blog after such a long time. Congrats for getting into IIM-L. And do keep posting, please.

  16. congrats! way too cool….

    now can i have a IIML t-shirt as a present?…in black perhaps?

  17. “I realize I am the future of my country. I am IIM Lucknow”

    This was bollywood-ish 😀

  18. so you are an IIM grad now!…that’s some huge brand to be wearing!.. congrats! 🙂

  19. Congrats ….. …. 🙂 !!

  20. “I realize I am the future of my country. I am IIM Lucknow”

    … is this borrowed form the new (aamir khan) samsung mobile add…

  21. nice 😛
    so the network building plan still on ?

  22. now, getting hooked to cs and managing the work-load at iim…that would be an achievement.

    well, congrats…

  23. Rama, 😛 i wrote more than a few articles for this issue! they are not too relevant though.

    Ziah, thanku thanku! will try.

    Sam, aaha! i too kind of feel the connection with people who live in a city that i lived in. Btw if you come near the IIM do let me know.. i promise a free guided tour 🙂

    Aniket, thank you and yes.. its been a long time!

    Tys, mail me your size and address. i am serious.

    Halley, very! and it was supposed to be 😛

    Perplexed, thank you! hope you had a good holiday!

    Ankit, thanks! haven’t seen the new ad. haven’t seen TV (even a TV) in over a month! 🙂

    Nippo, ofcourse 😉

    Tipo, Its a scary thought 😦 a few games of Quake and CS is what is on right now. I am planning to remove the RAM from my lappie to stop myself!

  24. Congrats on becoming a part of IIM! Now that you are in Lucknow, you would know ways UP behaves 🙂 🙂

  25. Congrats dude!

  26. size 44….i think thts XL…. u will also need to give me some IIM Jargons to con the ladies…

  27. Dude, I AM in Lucknow and should stay for a while now… so is that offer still on?? 😉

  28. Congratulations on getting into IIM. I stepped into your blog from prat’s. It was a nice read. Like to hear more. Wish you the best.

  29. allo allo. someone home? Long time, no see:(

  30. Hi ,

    I was reading ur blog posts and found some of them to be very good.. u write well.. Why don’t you popularize it more.. ur posts on ur blog ‘Doses of delirium’ took my particular attention as some of them are interesting topics of mine too;

    BTW I help out some ex-IIMA guys who with another batch mate run http://www.rambhai.com where you can post links to your most loved blog-posts. Rambhai was the chaiwala at IIMA and it is a site where users can themselves share links to blog posts etc and other can find and vote on them. The best make it to the homepage!

    This way you can reach out to rambhai readers some of whom could become your ardent fans.. who knows.. 🙂

    Cheers,

  31. where u buddy?…all ok?…just checking in…

  32. that IIM is sure keeping u verrry busy!! hmph!

  33. Hi Sreejith,

    I invite you and all bloggers to contentxn.com

    We look forward to working with you.

    Navneet,

  34. Dude! Kidhar hain??

  35. Hi Sreejith, IndiBlogger.in has organized another Bangalore blogger meet http://www.indiblogger.in/bloggermeet.php?id=26 exactly a year after the last one. And this is also at the MS office in EGL.

    The IndiBlogger team would like your presence at this meet too and blog about. Please do bring as many blogger friends as you can.

    This time we are also planning for some interesting discussions like “blogger rights”, etc during the meet.

    Hope to you see you at the meet.

    Cheers,
    Anwin
    +91-9880518019
    anwin at indiblogger dot in

  36. I read your blog and found it very informative. The event blogs are striking enough to have a feel of the event, so, I would like to have a little chit-chat on your blogging interests. And even we are coming up with an event on startups on June 6th in Bangalore. So, can I have your contact details? Looking forward to hear from you.

    Link for the Event: http://www.siliconindia.com/startupcity_09/index.php

    Contact me: ojas@siliconindia.com

  37. time u started again:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

